Universitatea Babeş-Bolyai

Universitatea Babeş-Bolyai
HE Institution
Year of foundation: 
Member since: 
Babeş-Bolyai University


Institutional postal address: 
Mihail Kogalniceanu nr. 1 RO- 400084 Cluj-Napoca
Institutional phone: 
0264 405300

Mission / Vision

Babes-Bolyai University is an academic educational public institution aiming to promote and sustain the development of specific cultural components within the local, regional, national and international community.


The Babeş-Bolyai University provides courses for more than 45,500 students (of which more than 500 are foreign students, more than 3,000 are doctoral students and 4,300 are secondary education teachers), the educational and research activity being carried out by a teaching staff of over 1,700.
Hungarian and German students have the right to participate in all the activities organized by the University and the possibility to elect representatives to the Professors' Council and the University Senate.
In order to respect this multicultural structure, all university bodies (and in particular the governing bodies) are organized so as to take into account the three ethnic and linguistic components. The deputy dean or the scientific secretary of each faculty must belong either to the Hungarian or to the German minority in order to administer their respective line of study. Moreover, at the central level, each of these three groups is represented by a vice-rector, who is also a member of the Senate's College, and by a specific general secretariat. Therefore, the university's executive board comprises 20 representatives of these ethnic groups holding offices such as those of vice-rectors, deans, deputy-deans, scientific secretaries and heads of department.

Main activities

  • Teaching
  • Learning
  • Research
  • Services
  • Extension


  • UNESCO. United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization
  • The Catalan Association of Public Universities (ACUP)

Sponsored by

  • Generalitat de Catalunya. Ministry of Business and Employment. Department of Research and Universities
  • Generalitat de Catalunya. Ministry for Foreign Action and Open Government