Conseil Africain et Malgache pour l'Enseignement Supérieur

Conseil Africain et Malgache pour l'Enseignement Supérieur
HE Network
Year of foundation: 
Member since: 
African and Malagasy Council for Higher Education


Institutional postal address: 
CAMES 01 BP, 134 Ouagadougou
Burkina Faso
Institutional e-mail: 
Institutional phone: 
(+226) 50368146
Institutional fax: 
(+226) 50368573

Mission / Vision

The African and Malagasy Council for Higher Education (CAMES) is an intergovernmental institution for integrating higher education systems. It is made up of 17 countries (Benin, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, the Central African Republic, Chad, the Democratic Republic of Congo, Côte d’Ivoire, Gabon, Guinea-Conakry, Guinea-Bissau, Madagascar, Mali, Niger, Rwanda, Senegal and Togo)in addition to a dozen inter-state higher education and research institutions.


It was set up in 1968 to standardize the way emerging African universities were run.


To establish permanent scientific and cultural cooperation between its members

To draw up agreements between the member countries on higher education and research, and to contribute to their implementation

Main activities

In order to guarantee the success of these missions, CAMES set up four programmes that can basically be defined as quality assurance programmes:

  • The Diploma Recognition and Equivalence Programme
  • The Traditional African Pharmacopeia and Medicines Programme
  • The Inter-African Consulting Committees Programme
  • The Tenureship Programme


  • UNESCO. United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization
  • The Catalan Association of Public Universities (ACUP)

Sponsored by

  • Generalitat de Catalunya. Ministry of Business and Employment. Department of Research and Universities
  • Generalitat de Catalunya. Ministry for Foreign Action and Open Government